21/01/15 Category: News Posted by:

The Sydney Sixers have named an unchanged squad of 13 for their huge Sydney Smash match up against cross town rivals the Sydney Thunder tomorrow night.

After earlier results the Sixers are assured of a spot in the semi-finals, with the opportunity to host a home semi-final at the Sydney Cricket Ground still a mathematical possibility.

After announcing his retirement from all forms of cricket last week, the match shapes up as Brett Lee’s last guaranteed appearance at the storied venue.

Lee will again spearhead the Sydney Sixers bowling efforts alongside quicks Doug Bollinger, Sean Abbott and Moises Henriques, while Test star Nathan Lyon and Stephen O’Keefe will provide the spin options for the magenta men.

The NSW domestic cricket attendance record (32,823) which was set at Sydney Smash 06 at ANZ Stadium looks set to be broken with an unprecedented amount of pre-purchased tickets setting the stage for a massive night of entertainment at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The squad is:
Moises Henriques ©
Sean Abbott
Doug Bollinger
Ryan Carters
Ed Cowan
Simon Keen
Brett Lee
Michael Lumb
Nathan Lyon
Nic Maddinson
Stephen O’Keefe
Jordan Silk
Riki Wessels

Match details are:

Sydney Sixers v Sydney Thunder
Gates open: 6pm
Match starts: 7.40pm
Broadcast: Ten and Fairfax Radio

Tickets are selling fast so people are encouraged to pre-purchase through Spectators are urged to arrive early to avoid queues and to take public transport to the ground.

Semi-Final breakdown
Adelaide Strikers, Perth Scorchers, Melbourne Stars & Sydney Sixers have all guaranteed a spot in the semi-finals
Adelaide are guaranteed to finish in first place on the ladder and host a home semi-final
If the Scorchers beat the Stars, the Scorchers will host a home semi-final
If the Stars beat the Scorchers and the Sixers beat the Thunder all times will be tied on 10 points with the other home semi-final to be decided by the team with the highest Net Run Rate.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame