Sixers terminate Akmal’s contract

21/11/12 Category: News Posted by:

The Sydney Sixers today confirm they have terminated the contract of Umar Akmal for the upcoming KFC T20 Big Bash League.

The recent decision of the Pakistan Cricket Board to first rule Akmal out of the tournament and then to later give him permission for just the first game has led to the decision as the team looks to stabilise its roster.

“While it would have been great to have Umar here for the start of the BBL season, the short time frame offered is not in the club’s best interest and we have decided to see if a suitable replacement is available rather than continue down this path,” said Sixers General Manager Stuart Clark.

“Umar is a quality international player and we wish him well for the upcoming domestic tournament in Pakistan, but we are confident our strong roster will be able to cover the loss of Umar should we not find a suitable replacement.”

The Sixers are yet to fill their final domestic spot in the squad with an announcement expected later this week.

The Sixers will take on arch rivals the Sydney Thunder in the season opener on 8 December at the SCG before backing up a week later on 16 December at home against last year’s finalists, the Perth Scorchers.

The final two home games for the Sixers fall on Boxing Day against the Hobart Hurricanes and 9 January against the Melbourne Renegades.

Sydney Sixers BBL|02 squad are: Brad Haddin, Josh Hazlewood, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, Josh Lalor, Brett Lee, Michael Lumb, Nic Maddinson, Ian Moran, Sunil Narine, Stephen O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Steve Smith, Daniel Smith, Mitchell Starc, Dominic Thornely, David Warner.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame