Mark Taylor and Mike Silver retire from the NSW Cricket Board

05/09/12 Category: News Posted by:

Former NSW and Australian captain, Mark Taylor, and long-serving Country administrator, Mike Silver, announced their retirements from the NSW Cricket Board during the Cricket NSW Annual General Meeting in Sydney last night (3 September).

Taylor’s decision brings to an end a 13-year tenure as a Director which commenced shortly after his retirement as a player in 1999. In 2004, Taylor was elected as one of three NSW Directors on the Cricket Australia Board – a position he now relinquishes.

Mike Silver had been the Central Northern Zone Delegate to Cricket NSW since 1992 and was elected to the NSW Cricket Board in 2006. He also served as the Chairman of the NSW Country Cricket Association from 1997 – 2009 and as a Director on the Cricket Australia Board from 2008 – 2012.

At the AGM, three new Directors were elected to the Board – the former NSW Minister for Sport, Kevin Greene, from the St George club, the Sydney Cricket Association Chairman, John Warn, from Manly-Warringah, and Country Cricket NSW Chairman, Ian Hogg, from the Illawarra Zone. They replace Doug Cole, who had served on the Board for the past 8 years, Richard Cook (2 years) and Mike Silver. The Hon. Patricia Forsythe was also re-appointed for a further two year term on the Board.

Cricket NSW Chairman, Dr Harry Harinath, paid tribute to the outgoing Directors:

“On behalf of Cricket NSW, I thank Mark Taylor, Mike Silver, Doug Cole and Richard Cook for their sterling service to the NSW Cricket Board. They are all extremely passionate cricket people and I know they will remain involved in the game for many years to come,” he said.

“I also welcome John Warn, Kevin Greene and Ian Hogg to the Board. I look forward to working closely with them in what is an exciting period of change in Australian cricket.”

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame