Lend Lease Breakers sweep aside ACT

22/10/12 Category: News Posted by:

A clinical performance by the Lend Lease Breakers has resulted in a commanding eight wicket victory over the ACT Meteors in their Women’s T20 match played at Blacktown International Sportspark this morning.

The Lend Lease Breakers went into today’s fixture looking to complete a clean sweep against the Meteors following a 64 run win in Friday’s T20 match, and a seven wicket bonus point win in yesterday’s 50 over game.

Winning the toss and electing to bat, the ACT only managed 9-77 from their 20 overs. The procession of wickets began in the first over and never stopped.

The Lend Lease Breakers’ bowlers were outstanding. Erin Osborne took 1-3 from her four overs and Lisa Sthalekar 1-6 off 3, while Player of the Match, Sarah Aley, finished with 4-13 from her four.

Leah Poulton ensured there was no drama in the chase, remaining 40 not out from 46 balls with victory coming in the 14th over. The only two wickets to fall were Alyssa Healy (16) and Angela Reakes (14), with Lisa Sthalekar remaining unbeaten on four.

Lend Lease Breakers Head Coach, Joanne Broadbent, said she was impressed by the way the team came together after a limited preparation, with the team’s eight Australian players only returning to State training last week after the World T20.

“The way the team has gelled in the last week has been exceptional, and that’s a real credit to the players. There were some impressive performances with the bowling but I think it was our batting which stood out this weekend. It was exceptional,” said Broadbent.

The next assignment for the Lend Lease Breakers will be the Queensland Fire in Brisbane next weekend (October 26-28).

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame