Jake Doran signs for Sydney Thunder to become the youngest contracted player in the history of the KFC T20 Big Bash

09/10/14 Category: News Posted by:

At the age of just 17 years and 311 days, Jake Doran has signed for the Sydney Thunder to become the youngest ever player to sign a full contract with a BBL club in the history of the competition.

The previous youngest was Meryck Buchanan, who signed for the Melbourne Renegades in November 2011, at the age of 18 years and 56 days.

Doran’s signing is a major coup for the Thunder as he is seen as one of the most talented young batsmen in the country. He caused a storm last season when as a 16 year-old he broke Doug Walters’ record as the youngest player ever to represent the NSW 2nd X1 and then followed it up by signing a rookie contract with the Sydney Thunder, before representing the CA Chairman’s XI against England and playing in the U19 World Cup.

His stellar 2013/14 season caught the eye of the New South Wales selectors and he was rewarded with a rookie contract with the Blues for this season.

Jake continues the Doran connection at the Thunder, with his brother Luke a member of the squad for their first three seasons.

Thunder General Manager Nick Cummins is delighted to have Doran on board for BBL|04: “Jake is a quality player who is seen by some astute judges as the most promising batsman in the country. Having been part of our squad as a development rookie last season, we are extremely pleased to have him on board as a fully contracted player and he will add some excellent depth to our batting line-up.

He provides us with another link to the Thunder community, having played his cricket with the Fairfield-Liverpool club and I know he is looking forward to working closely with Mike Hussey and new coach Paddy Upton.”

Current Thunder squad:
Mike Hussey ©
Aiden Blizzard
Pat Cummins
Jake Doran
Daniel Hughes
Jacques Kallis
Usman Khawaja
Dirk Nannes
Kurtis Patterson
Gurinder Sandhu
Chris Tremain

Thunder Schedule:
Sunday, 21 December 2014 – Brisbane Heat – Stadium Australia
Saturday, 27 December 2014 – Sydney Sixers – Stadium Australia
Tuesday, 30 December 2014 – Melbourne Renegades – Etihad Stadium
Thursday, 1 January 2015 – Perth Scorchers – The Furnace (WACA)
Wednesday, 7 January 2015 – Hobart Hurricanes – Spotless Stadium
Friday, 9 January 2015 – Sydney Sixers – SCG
Monday, 12 January 2015 – Adelaide Strikers – Adelaide Oval
Saturday, 17 January 2015 – Melbourne Stars – Spotless Stadium

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame