Akmal joins BBL Champions for a crack at the title

06/11/12 Category: News Posted by:

Pakistani batsman Umar Akmal is the latest international to pull on the magenta for a crack at the KFC T20 Big Bash League title, joining the Sixers for the start of BBL|02.

Akmal will be available for the first three matches, similar to Shahid Afridi for the Sydney Thunder, and will provide some potent attack and depth to the middle order.

He has played 26 International T20 matches for Pakistan with a batting average of 30.52 and is sure to strengthen the batting line up that includes superstars such as David Warner, Brad Haddin, Steve Smith, Nic Maddinson, Moises Henriques and Kurtis Patterson.

Umar is looking forward to joining the Sixers for their second campaign and spending time in Sydney.

“I jumped at the opportunity to be a part of the Big Bash League when the Sixers approached me,” he said.

“I’m looking forward to spending December in Australia and will be aiming to assist them to go back to back and win the tournament again”.

Also joining the Sydney Sixers is Daniel Hughes, a top order batsman who was added to the NSW Blues rookie list this season.

An opener for North Sydney, the exciting, young player is considered a prospect of the future for NSW and is sure to boost the batting attack with the departure of Warner to the Australian Test cricket team.

The Sixers will take on arch rivals the Sydney Thunder in the season opener on 8 December at the SCG before backing up a week later on 16 December at home against last year’s finalists, the Perth Scorchers.

The final two home games for the Sixers fall on Boxing Day against the Hobart Hurricanes and 9 January against the Melbourne Renegades.

Sydney Sixers BBL|02 squad are:
Umar Akmal
Brad Haddin
Josh Hazlewood
Moises Henriques
Daniel Hughes
Josh Lalor
Brett Lee
Nic Maddinson
Ian Moran
Sunil Narine
Stephen O’Keefe
Kurtis Patterson
Steve Smith
Daniel Smith
Mitchell Starc
Dominic Thornely
David Warner

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame