Shane Watson to be a Sixer

21/07/11 Category: Blog, Events, News Posted by:

With 150 days to go to the start of the KFC T20 Big Bash League, one of the most dynamic cricketers in the world has agreed to become a part of the Sydney Sixers.

Shane Watson today agreed terms to join a side that is overflowing with New South Wales cricket talent, for what is fast becoming one of the most eagerly awaited competitions in recent years.

Watson is a major coup for the Sixers.

The current Australian vice-captain, and one of the star players in the world in all three forms of the game, Watson averages 41.55 with the bat in Test cricket, and is already a veteran of 133 ODI’s, where he averages 43.74, including scoring 185 not out from 96 balls against Bangladesh in April 2011. It was the highest ever ODI innings by an Australian player.

Watson also has a superb T20 record.

He has a batting strike rate of 148.69 for Australia in this form of the game, and an economy rate of 7.65 per over with the ball.

He was part of the Shane Warne led Rajasthan Royals that won the inaugural Indian Premier League, and this year contributed 330 runs at 33.00 for Rajasthan in the competition, as well as taking valuable wickets and bowling with an economy rate of 6.69.

Stuart Clark expressed delight at the signing: “Shane is a quality cricketer and we are delighted that he has chosen to join the Sixers. He brings a combination of experience and class, and will help provide the leadership that will teach our younger players what it takes to win. He is a match-winner with both bat and ball, and a quality human being”

Watson is also pleased to be joining the Sixers: “When Stuart rang me about joining the Sixers I was excited about the type of team that he was building and the quality group of players that he was putting together. It’s great to be based at my favourite place in the world to play cricket, the SCG, and I hope that I can add something to the squad and be part of a winning culture”.

The full squad so far is : Steve Smith, Moises Henriques, Ben Rohrer, Peter Nevill, Mitchell Starc, Ed Cowan, Nic Maddinson, Brett Lee, Patrick Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Shane Watson

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame