NSW U/17 squad for National Championships named

13/11/13 Category: News Posted by:

State selectors have named a squad of 13 players to represent NSW at the 2013/14 Cricket Australia U/17 Male National Championships which will be played in Adelaide early next year (January 13-23).

The players selected in the squad are (clubs/regional zones in brackets):

Jake Doran (captain – Fairfield-Liverpool)
Jonathan Rose (vice captain – Sutherland)
Luke Bartier (St George)
Nicholas Craze (Campbelltown-Camden)
Andrew Dietz (Fairfield-Liverpool)
Thomas Doyle (Sutherland/Trinity Grammar)
Bayley McGill (Newcastle)
Jayden Park (Central North)
Jonte Pattison (Sydney University/Central Coast)
James Psarakis (Central North)
Harmon Sandhu (Fairfield-Liverpool)
Henry Thornton (The Scots College/Randwick Petersham)
John Venianakis (University of NSW)

Coach: Ben Sawyer
Manager/Assistant Coach: Michael Maclennan
Physiotherapist: Danny Redrup

Three players, Jake Doran, wicketkeeper Jonathon Rose and Nicholas Craze were all part of the NSW team which finished second at these Championships last summer, with Doran named captain for the second consecutive season. The squad also contains Harmon Sandhu, the younger brother of 2012/13 Steve Waugh Medallist, Gurinder Sandhu.

Cricket NSW Male Youth Programs Manager, Michael Maclennan, said he was very happy with the balance and experience of this squad.

“Jake Doran, Harmon Sandhu, John Venianakis and Jonte Pattison have all played in the Sydney First Grade competition this summer with the remainder of the squad playing Second Grade. This experience playing against hardened, senior cricketers will be a wonderful asset heading into these National Championships,” he said.

The squad will depart for Adelaide on Sunday, 12 January 2014. The team will play 50 over and Two-Day matches with the side on top of the competition ladder at the conclusion of the tournament declared the winner.

The NSW U/17 squad was selected at the conclusion of last weekend’s City vs Country series at Bradman Oval (November 10-11). City won the series after taking out game one on Sunday, while the second match scheduled for Monday was washed out.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame