Lend Lease Breakers’ quest begins

17/10/12 Category: News Posted by:

The Lend Lease Breakers begin their quest for an eighth consecutive Women’s National Cricket League title, and their first Women’s T20 crown, later this week when they take on the ACT Meteors in three matches at Blacktown International Sportspark (October 19-21).

Fresh from winning the World T20 in Sri Lanka less than two weeks ago, eight members of the Australian women’s team will line up for the Lend Lease Breakers; Alex Blackwell, Alyssa Healy, Rachael Haynes, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Nicola Carey, Leah Poulton and Lisa Sthalekar.

The full Lend Lease Breakers squad for this round of matches is (clubs/regions in brackets):

Alex Blackwell (captain – Universities/Riverina)
Rachael Haynes (vice-captain – Universities)
Sarah Aley (Bankstown Sports)
Nicola Carey (St George-Sutherland)
Alyssa Healy (Sydney)
Claire Koski (Campbelltown-Camden)
Sharon Millanta (Bankstown Sports)
Erin Osborne (St George-Sutherland/Central North)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney)
Leah Poulton (St George-Sutherland/Newcastle)
Angela Reakes (Sydney/North Coast)
Lisa Sthalekar (Gordon)
Kara Sutherland (Universities/North Coast)

Sarah Aley and Kara Sutherland have been recalled to the side after making just one interstate appearance each last summer, with both players rewarded for some impressive pre-season form.

Nicola Carey has also returned to the State team, with her last match for the Lend Lease Breakers back in Round Two last season. Sarah Coyte was not available for selection after still suffering from the illness that forced her to return early from the World T20.

The Lend Lease Breakers and ACT Meteors will play three matches, with T20 fixtures on Friday (October 19, 3pm) and Sunday (October 21, 10am), with a WNCL 50 over fixture on Saturday (October 20, 10am).

All matches will be played at Blacktown International Sportspark and entry is free.

The Lend Lease Breakers and ACT have played four times in both the WNCL and Women’s T20, with NSW holding a 3-1 advantage in each competition.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame