Lend Lease Breakers begin quest for 10th straight WNCL crown

09/10/14 Category: News Posted by:

A massive summer for the Lend Lease Breakers gets underway this weekend (October 10-12) against the ACT Meteors at Blacktown International Sportspark with the NSW side gunning for a 10th consecutive Women’s National Cricket League 50 over title, while also looking to reclaim the Women’s T20 crown they won in 2012/13.

NSW has been the dominant State since the inception of the WNCL since 1996/97. In that time they have won 16 out 18 WNCL titles, while in 2012/13 they became the first and only team so far to win both the WNCL and Women’s T20 in the same season.

Selectors have named a squad of 13 players for this weekend’s round against the ACT which includes six players with International experience, Alex Blackwell, Rachael Haynes, Leah Poulton, Ellyse Perry, Sarah Coyte and Erin Osborne, and two debutants in Lauren Smith and Emily Leys.

Lauren Smith is an 18-year-old off-spinner from the Central Coast. She was awarded her first Lend Lease Breakers contract earlier this year after impressing selectors with her performances for the NSW U/18 side last summer. Smith is also completing her HSC and will sit her first exam on Monday.

Emily Leys is a young all-rounder who bowls left-arm medium pace and bats in the middle order. Originally from Gunnedah in the State’s Central North, Leys represented NSW in Youth cricket and now players for Gordon in the McDonald’s Sydney Women’s First Grade competition.

Both Smith and Leys have earned their places in the Lend Lease Breakers squad for Round One on the back of impressive results during the squad’s pre-season trials, which included matches against the ACT, South Australia and Tasmania, and two City vs Country matches.

The full team for Round One of the WNCL and Women’s T20 is (clubs/regions in brackets):
Alex Blackwell (captain – Universities/Riverina)
Rachael Haynes (vice-captain – Universities)
Sarah Aley (Bankstown Sports)
Nicola Carey (St George-Sutherland)
Sarah Coyte (Campbelltown-Camden)
Alyssa Healy (Sydney)
Emily Leys (Gordon/Central Northern)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney)
Leah Poulton (Universities/Newcastle)
Erin Osborne (Sydney/Central Northern)
Angela Reakes (Sydney/North Coastal)
Kara Sutherland (Universities/North Coastal)
Lauren Smith (Northern District/Central Coast)

The Lend Lease Breakers and ACT Meteors will play Women’s T20 matches on Friday (October 10, 3pm) and Sunday (October 12, 10am), with the WNCL 50 over match on Saturday (October 11, 10am).

Entry to all three matches is free.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame