Junior teams seeking glory at the SCG on Weet-Bix Cup Finals Day

09/03/12 Category: Events, News Posted by:

The top junior Twenty20 sides from across Sydney will assemble at the Sydney Cricket Ground this Sunday (March 11) for the 2011/12 Weet-Bix Cup Finals Day.

The Weet-Bix Cup is a junior club Twenty20 tournament for metropolitan Sydney teams in the U/12, U/14 and U/16 divisions. Over 300 games were completed to decide this season’s finalists.

The rules of the Weet-Bix Cup are designed to encourage maximum participation, ensuring that as many players as possible are involved in the match in some way.

The competition is divided into two stages.

Teams started by playing against sides from their own regions, ie, Sydney North, South, East and West. The top two teams from within each region, for each division, then played off for the title of Regional Champion with each winner receiving the Brett Lee Cup.

Each Regional Champion then progressed to the Weet-Bix Cup Semi Finals with the winners progressing to the Finals Day.

The draw for the Weet-Bix Cup Finals Day is as follows:
U/16s: Como-Jannali v Normanhurst-Warrawee (9:00am)
U/14s: Normanhurst-Warrawee vs Ingleburn RSL (12:00pm)
U/12s: Revesby Workers vs Caringbah (3pm)

Teams will also have the benefit of advice from members of the NSW SpeedBlitz Blues squad who will be attending throughout the day.

NSW SpeedBlitz Blues players attending the Weet-Bix Cup Finals day are Patrick Cummins, Josh Hazlewood (9am), Moises Henriques (12pm), Kurtis Patterson and Nathan Brain (3pm).

Cricket NSW Game Development Manager, Cameron French, said the Weet-Bix Cup was big hit amongst junior cricketers.

“Kids are really enjoying watching and playing Twenty20 cricket and that’s reflected in their enthusiasm for being part of the Weet-Bix Cup. We are really looking forward to seeing all the kids put on a terrific show at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Finals Day. It will be an experience they will never forget!” he said.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame