Haynes joins new faces in 2011/12 Lend Lease Breakers

06/06/11 Category: Blog, News Posted by:

A number of new faces have been named in the Lend Lease Breakers squad for 2011/12, including former Victorian captain, Rachael Haynes.

Selectors have chosen a squad of 22 this season. In a change from previous years, players from the Breakers Development squad will now be included in the Lend Lease Breakers squad, giving younger players more opportunity to work alongside seasoned international cricketers like Alex Blackwell, Leah Poulton and Lisa Sthalekar.

The full Lend Lease Breakers squad for 2011/12 is (Club/Region in Brackets):

Sarah Aley (Bankstown Sports)
Alex Blackwell (Universities/Riverina)
Nicola Carey (St George-Sutherland)
Sarah Coyte (Campbelltown-Camden)
Nicole Goodwin (Sydney/Central North)
Lisa Griffith (Campbelltown-Camden/Western)
Rachael Haynes (TBC)
Alyssa Healy (Sydney)
Kath Koschel (St George-Sutherland)
Claire Koski (Campbelltown-Camden)
Katie Mack (Bankstown Sports)
Sharon Millanta (Bankstown Sports)
Erin Osborne (St George-Sutherland/Central North)
Alison Parkin (Universities)
Ellyse Perry (Sydney)
Leah Poulton (St George-Sutherland/Newcastle)
Angela Reakes (Sydney/North Coast)
Lisa Sthalekar (Gordon)
Kara Sutherland (Campbelltown-Camden/North Coast)
Hannah Trollip (Gordon)
Keeghan Tucker (Campbelltown-Camden/Western)
Kate Waetford (Campbelltown-Camden)

One of the biggest additions to the squad is Rachael Haynes who has relocated from Melbourne to Sydney after five seasons with Victoria, including the last two as captain. Haynes has also played 12 One Day Internationals, 12 Twenty20 Internationals and two Test matches for Australia.

Also amongst the new faces are teenagers Nicola Carey, Katie Mack and Hannah Trollip, all of whom were part of the NSW team which won the U/18 Female National Championships last summer.

Carey forced her way into the Lend Lease Breakers side for the last few games of the 2010/11 season and was unlucky not to play in the Twenty20 Final after falling ill prior to the match.

Gordon batter, Hannah Trollip, played two games for the Breakers last summer in the absence of Australian players, and has been the Player of the Year in the Sydney First Grade competition for the last two seasons.

The other players named in the Lend Lease Breakers squad for the first time are Lisa Griffith, Kath Koschel, Keeghan Tucker and Kate Waetford.

Lend Lease Breakers Head Coach, Neil McDonald, said the squad had a big year ahead of them.

“This summer sees the Lend Lease Breakers going for a record breaking seventh consecutive National 50 over title, and we are also desperate to win our first National Twenty20 crown after narrowly losing the Final last season,” said McDonald.

“As always, there will be a lot of competition for places in the team and I believe that this will push both our established Australian players, and rising stars, to even greater heights.”

Story Courtesy: Cricket NSW

Printable File

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame