Bradman Foundation 11th Annual Gala Dinner

Sydney Cricket Ground
Wednesday, 8 November 2016

Make your 2017 booking here.

Watch the 2016 Bradman Gala Dinner tribute to Bill Lawry here.
Watch the 2016 Bradman Gala Dinner tribute to Graeme Smith here.

Political, Corporate and Cricket Royalty at Gala Dinner

Last year we witnessed South Africa’s record-breaking Captain, Graeme Smith and our own much-loved Bill Lawry inducted as Bradman Honourees. Once again the presentation of the awards was both memorable and meaningful. Master of Ceremonies Mark Nicholas and our Patron John Howard combined seamlessly with sophistication, humour and respect to capture the cricketing achievements and personalities of our two Honourees.


Graeme, accompanied by his parents Graham and Janet, was moved by the Bradman Foundation’s recognition of his achievements. In South Africa he is largely uncelebrated and he has simply moved on from his stellar playing career into a business career. To have his parents in the room, at the SCG – the scene of many of his great on-field battles, was a highly significant moment in his life.

Similarly, Bill Lawry after a lifetime of playing cricket leading his State and National side followed by a lengthy and distinguished broadcasting career proudly accepted our award with both humility and an impish sense of humour. He was especially pleased that his two daughters Susan and Elizabeth were present to witness their father’s acknowledgment.

In response our audience were once again closely engaged by the on-stage presentations throughout the night. Their attentiveness and palpable goodwill towards all speakers greatly contributed to the collegiate atmosphere by which the Bradman Dinner is now defined.


Our fundraising success was underpinned by the ongoing support of our event partners Sydney Cricket Ground Trust, Wide World of Sports, Carlton United Breweries, Tyrrell’s Wines, Emirates Airlines and Investec.

The room was beautifully presented with 75 photos of guests from previous years archives and match footage from yesteryear which was shown between the onstage segments.

It was a night to remember.

Bradman Honourees are:
2006 Norm O’Neill OAM
2007 Neil Harvey MBE, Sam Loxton OBE
2008 Bill Brown OAM, Arthur Morris MBE
2009 Alan Davidson AM MBE, Dennis Lillee AM MBE
2010 Sunil Gavaskar, Adam Gilchrist AM
2011 Sir Richard Hadlee MBE, Bob Simpson AO
2012 Rahul Dravid, Glenn McGrath AM
2013 Mark Taylor AO
2014 Steve Waugh AO, Sachin Tendulkar AM
2015 Richie Benaud OBE
2016 Bill Lawry AM, Graeme Smith

Make your 2017 booking here.


bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame