Cricket NSW appoints Academy coaches

09/07/13 Category: News Posted by:

This season will see some major appointments in the Cricket NSW Junior Pathway programs with the appointment of a number of outstanding coaches.

In Country Cricket eight new coaches will have the responsibility for the CNSW Academies in their respective Zones. Previously the system has seen 22 Regional Directors of Coaching responsible for local development at Council level, with the new system complementing the original structure and providing the direct link from the region to Cricket NSW.

After an extensive interview process the following candidates have been chosen for their respective zones :
Stephen Davies – Illawarra
Mark Cameron- Newcastle
Mervyn Bourke- North Coast
Glenn Rowlands- Central Coast
Rod Bryant – Central North
Scott Moran- Southern Zone
Greg McLay- Riverina
Jordan Moran – Western Zone

The group has an outstanding mix of experience and cricketing background and includes former New South Wales and Australia A pace bowler, Mark Cameron, who will look after the Newcastle Zone.

In terms of the city, the Junior Metropolitan Program will begin later this month and also has an extremely talented list of coaches. Former Australian spin bowler Beau Casson heads up a group that includes former State players Grant Lambert and Anthony Clark, in addition to many current First Grade cricketers. Both City and Country areas will then be able to call upon specialist coaches such as Mark O’Neill (batting), Geoff Lawson (bowling) and Dan Smith (wicketkeeping).

The full list of city coaches is :
13s South East – Dean Burke and Dan Rixon
13s North West – David Drew and John Betsey
14s South East -James Allsopp and Lee Kirk
14s North West – Grant Lambert and Gavan Twining
15s -Mark Chapman and Mark McInnis
16s – Anthony Clark and Beau Casson
NSW U17’s – Ben Sawyer
NSW U19’s – Michael MacLennan

All coaches will get together in the coming weeks to create a structure and philosophy that will be the benchmark for all areas moving forward.

For more information on the program or to speak to any of the coaches involved please contact Youth Programs Manager – Michael MacLennan on 0425 264 320

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame