Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars v West Indies

12/11/14 Category: News Posted by:


Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars v West Indies will be playing two One Day International matches on Bradman Oval on 16 & 18 November 2014. All are welcome to bring a chair and blanket to watch the action, free entry to the matches.

Match Dates: Sunday, 16 November & Tuesday, 18 November
Session Times – 10.00am to 1.00pm & 1.45pm to 5.15pm
Location – Bradman Oval, Bowral

Training times:
West Indies – Saturday, 15 November & Monday, 17 November 2 pm to 5 pm
Southern Stars – Monday, 17 November 10 am to 1.00 pm

Food and refreshments available to purchase from Stumps Cafe.

The Bradman Museum and International Cricket Hall of Fame will be open featuring a special exhibition
Women Pioneers to T20 Champions

Admission prices are:
Family of 5 – $55.00
Adults – $20.00
Concession – $15.00
Children – $11.00

Past Women Players Luncheon

Date – Sunday, 16 November
Time – 1.45 to 3.00 pm
Cost – $35.00 per head
Please RSVP to [email protected]

How to Follow the Series

Live Video Stream –
Live Scores –
Twitter – @SouthernStars / @CricketAus #SSvWI


Commonwealth Bank International Women’s
Series Preview

This series marks a historic step in the progression of women’s cricket globally. As part of the second round of the ICC Women’s Championship, it brings together two teams who have never met outside of ICC events.

The Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars have enjoyed a stronghold over the West Indies, with Australia claiming four of the five ODIs and all four WT20 INTLs that the teams have faced off in. However, the competition has intensified in recent years as both sides have enjoyed success at international level. The two teams have met in the semi-finals in the last two ICC Women’s World T20 events and contested the final of the 2013 ICC Women’s World Cup.

The Australian side will be brimming with confidence off the back of their victorious campaign at the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 in Bangladesh earlier this year. They also put on a dominant display against Pakistan in Queensland in August, claiming an 8-0 series whitewash. As the current World Cup holders in both the ODI and T20 formats, the Australian side will be determined to prove why they are the number one ranked team in the world. The team will look to captain Meg Lanning to feature prominently at the top of the order in both formats and display the form that has taken her to the top of the rankings in the T20 format.


The West Indies have become a powerhouse team on the international stage in recent years with their athletic and powerful style of play. They recently hosted the New Zealand White Ferns as part of the ICC Women’s Championship and claimed a 4-0 ODI series win but succumbed to their opponents 2-1 in the WT20 INTL series. Stafanie Taylor is expected to feature prominently for the visitors and prove why she is the number one and two ranked all-rounder respectively in ODIs and T20s.

Prior to the ODI series the two teams competed in four WT20 INTL matches, with the Australian side claiming a 4-0 series win.

ICC Women’s Championship
The first three ODIs of this series will form part of the second round of the inaugural ICC Women’s Championship for the Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars and the West Indies. The two sides were sitting equal top of the table after they both clean-swept their first round matches.

The Championship has been developed to create a more extensive and meaningful bilateral playing program for cricket. It will see the top eight ranked women’s teams play each other in three ODIs between 2014 and 2016, with points being awarded for each game and the top four sides gaining automatic qualification to the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017 in England. The bottom four sides will have a second chance to qualify for the event through the ICC Women’s World Cup Qualifier 2017, where they will compete with six regional qualifiers for the last four available places in the tournament.

The eight participating teams are ranked as per their finishing positions at the 2013 ICC Women’s World Cup and include Australia, West Indies, England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, South Africa, India and Pakistan.

Commonwealth Bank Southern Stars Squad:
Player – Shirt Number
Kristen Beams – 14
Alex Blackwell (VC) – 2
Nicole Bolton – 12
Jess Cameron – 27
Rene Farrell – 13
Alyssa Healy – 10
Julie Hunter – 9
Jess Jonassen – 21
Meg Lanning (C) – 17
Erin Osborne – 25
Ellyse Perry – 8
Megan Schutt – 3
Elyse Villani – 4

West Indies Squad:
Player – Shirt Number
Merissa Aguilleira (C) – 11
Shemaine Campbelle – 30
Shamilia Connell – 46
Britney Cooper -35
Shanel Daley – 31
Deandra Dottin – 5
Kycia Knight – 42
Hayley Matthews – 50
Anisa Mohammed – 14
Subrina Munroe – 39
Shaquana Quintyne – 43
Tremayne Smartt – 33
Shakera Selman – 4
Stafanie Taylor (VC) – 7

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

bottom curve


Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame


The International Cricket Hall of Fame will be opening on the 29th November 2010.

Please look around the website to find out about this exciting new cricketing experience.

Enter your details below to sign-up for news from The International Cricket Hall of Fame